Skip to Content

17 Delightful Kids Book Crafts W/ Free Printable Templates

We love reading books to our children and seeing their imaginations grow with each story! But wouldn’t it be even more amazing if we could encourage them to create something from the stories they love?

Our kids book crafts are the perfect way to do just that! Each craft is inspired by your children’s favorite books and includes step-by-step instructions so everyone can join in on the fun.

These fun crafts are also a great way to develop your child’s creativity, fine motor skills, and storytelling abilities. They can interact with the stories in a new and exciting way, bringing them to life through each creation!

We at Simple Everyday Mom believe every story is an adventure waiting to happen. So why not make it a reality with our kid’s book activities? These easy crafts are perfect for rainy days, birthday parties, playdates, or classroom art projects.

Keep reading to find some fun craft projects to go with your child’s favorite books! 

Children’s Book Craft Ideas

kids craft image collage with the words kids' book craft ideas for preschool - free templates!

This post may contain affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate and a participant in other affiliate programs, I earn a commission on qualifying purchases. Read our disclosure policy.

This Grouchy Ladybug craft is perfect for fans of Eric Carle’s classic book. Children can create their ladybugs using simple supplies, like construction paper, scissors, and glue! It’s a fun way to teach them about insects and their unique features, while also connecting with the story.

Get hands-on and make our handprint pigeon craft for kids! It’s a great book craft to go with Mo Willems’ pigeon series. The best part? It doesn’t require any paint, making it one of the easiest low-mess crafts for little hands.

If the Grumpy Monkey story is one of your kid’s favorite things, then they’ll love this Grumpy Monkey craft. Kids of all ages will have so much fun playing with their new puppets and re-enacting scenes from the story. Download our free template and follow the simple instructions to get started.

I am Money by Julia Cook is a wonderful way to teach kids about money management and financial responsibility. To go along with the book, we’ve created an I am Money book craft! This creative activity is great for sparking discussions about money while providing a fun and simple project for kids.

Unlock a world of whimsy and wonder with our Dr. Seuss crafts – click to dive into fun projects that will transport you and your little ones to the imaginative realms of Seussville!

collage of kids book crafts

Our happy Easter mouse craft is a ton of fun for the whole family! It’s an adorable book-inspired craft that’s perfect for the Easter season. With just a few supplies, kids can practice their scissor skills and create their very own mouse to play with.

We love Pete the Cat here! We’ve got a bunch of Pete the Cat book-themed crafts for kids, and this Pete the Cat paper bag puppet is one of our favorites. It’s a great way to bring the character to life and inspire imaginative play!

This Pete the Cat headband craft is the perfect book craft for kids who love the cool cat. It’s a simple and fun activity that captures the essence of Pete’s personality and style. Grab some paper, scissors, and glue, and get ready for your kids to rock their very own Pete the Cat headband.

Looking for some fun projects to get your kids excited about their upcoming camping trip? Look no further than our Pete the Cat Goes Camping craft!

This adorable craft is perfect for getting your little campers excited for their outdoor adventure. Plus, it’s a great way to incorporate some book-themed fun into your camping trip!

collage of kids book crafts

Get ready for some seasonal fun with our Pete the Cat Thanksgiving craft! Make this craft after enjoying the book, Pete the Cat: The First Thanksgiving. Your creative kid will have the best time dressing up Pete with this cute craft.

We weren’t joking when we said we loved Pete the Cat! This Pete the Cat scarecrow craft is perfect for the fall season. It’s a fun way to bring Pete into the autumn spirit and create a cute decoration for your home. Plus, it’s a great activity for kids to practice their fine motor skills and creativity! 

Teach your kids about the life cycle of an acorn with our adorable Little Acorn craft inspired by the book, Little Acorn by Melanie Joyce.

Your child can create their own acorn friend using simple craft supplies and our free template. It would look so cute displayed with a copy of the book on your child’s bookshelf!

There are many great craft ideas to get your kids into the spirit of reading and spark their creativity. This Turkey Trouble craft is just one of them! It’s not only a fun way to bring the book to life, but it’ll help get your kids excited for Thanksgiving.

collage of kids books crafts

Paper crafts are some of the best low-prep activities for kids. Our Old Lady Who Swallowed a Turkey craft is just too funny – kids will love it! Enjoy storytime with the fun Thanksgiving story, There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Turkey!, and then make this craft together. 

Have your kids read the book, How to Catch a Snowman? Get them even more excited for winter and the holiday season with our How to Catch a Snowman craft! Kids will recreate their version of the snowman using simple craft supplies. It’s sure to be a hit with your little ones! 

Your kiddos will love recreating scenes from the book using our Snowmen at Night craft! What will their snowmen get up to while we all sleep? Encourage them to use their imagination and get creative. This craft is also great for practicing cutting skills and hand-eye coordination.

collage of kids book crafts

Try not to melt this adorable Sneezy the Snowman craft! Pair it with the book, Sneezy the Snowman by Maureen Wright for even more winter fun.

Kids can cut and assemble their own Sneezy using construction paper and a few other simple supplies. They could even add pipe cleaners, googly eyes, and other decorations!

Tacky the Penguin is all about being unique and embracing your individuality. This Tacky the Penguin craft is a fantastic idea for kids to create after reading the story!

Get your kids ready for a fun-filled adventure with these 8 wonderful hibernation books! Each book takes them on an exciting journey, from tiny bugs burrowing underground to big bears snuggling in their dens. It allows them to learn about animal hibernation in a fun and engaging way.

Turn those pennies into pages with I am money book craft that’s all about rolling in the dough of knowledge! Kids get to color, cut, and create their very own Money buddy, learning the value of a dollar through fun and creative ways. It also makes financial wisdom as exciting as finding a treasure chest!

Kids can make their own bunny that looks just like Trixie’s when they make this knuffle bunny craft. With easy steps and a free template, your kids can bring their very own bunny friend from the beloved story to life – it’s all about creating big smiles and even bigger memories!

Our clark the shark craft brings the ocean’s apex predator to life in an educational way. Where kids can bring their favorite storybook character to life with just paper, scissors, and glue! It’s a fantastic way to extend the adventure beyond the pages, encouraging creativity through the simple joy of making.

This cinderella puppet craft makes your kids’ imaginations run wild as they create their own royal adventures, complete with fairy godmothers and glass slippers.

They can use our downloadable template to make their own Tacky, and have fun working on scissor skills, fine motor skills, following instructions, and more!

More Fun Ideas For Kids

Activities For Kids

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Cheryl

Sunday 4th of February 2024

We did Tacky the Penguin last month!

Sam

Monday 5th of February 2024

Oh, great! I hope everyone had fun!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.